After-Stroke-Online-Programs After Stroke Online Programs

After Stroke Online Programs

3/31/2021
3/31/2021 4:00 PM
 

Older couple on their computer

After Stroke Online Programs

Social distancing doesn't have to mean disconnection - our online programs will help you stay connected and engaged from the safety and comfort of your own home. MODC now offers a number of After Stroke online programs to connect you with resources, tools, and a community of people who understand.

A stroke changes the lives of both survivors and their loved ones. Navigating that new reality can be difficult, figuring out what you need and where to find it, so MODC is making it easier with online versions of After Stroke programs. Access a community of resources and support from your computer!


Ask an Expert 

Information, inspiration, and resources for stroke recovery, presented by medical and rehabilitation professionals on Zoom (online video chat network). Topics are timely and relevant during this pandemic. These interactive sessions only need you to bring your curiosity and questions.

Next Event: Sleep and Mental Health - presented by Sarah Cotton, R. Kin from Community Support Connections

Date: Monday, February 22, 2021

Times: 10 a.m. - 11 a.m. PST
            11 a.m. - 12 noon MST
            12 noon - 1 p.m. CST
            1 p.m. - 2 p.m. EST
            2 p.m. - 3 p.m. AST
            2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. NST

Register: To register for this program, please complete a short online form. You only need to register once then you will be able to attend all future sessions.
Register 


Yoga for You

Enjoy the mental, emotional, and physical benefits of gentle breathing and movement with an experienced yoga instructor.  These half-hour yoga sessions are held online and can be done from the safety and comfort of your home.

Dates: 3rd Monday of each month

Upcoming sessions:  
            Monday, March 15, 2021
            Monday, April 19, 2021
            Monday, May 17, 2021
            Monday, June 21, 2021

Times: 12 noon - 12:30 p.m. PST
            1:00 p.
m. - 1:30 p.m. MST
            2:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. CST
            3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. EST
            4:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. AST
            4:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. NST

Register: 
Registration is required. Please complete the short online form.

Register


After Stroke Virtual Community Conversation (Tuesday session)

Connect with stroke survivors and caregivers across Canada in our Community Conversation. It's a place where you can share knowledge, resources, challenges, and triumphs, and remember that you're not alone. 

Join survivors and caregivers from all over Canada to meet, share knowledge and resources.

Dates: Weekly every Tuesday

Times: 10 a.m. PST
            11 a.
m. MST
            12 noon CST
            1 p.m. EST
            2 p.m. AST
            2:30 p.m. NST

Register: 
Registration is required. Please complete the short online form.

Register


You will be provided with a Zoom website link for the session along with the Meeting ID to use when the online program is scheduled to start.


Chair Exercises for Stroke Recovery (Tuesdays and/or Thursdays)

Join us for a free one-hour chair exercise session led by a certified fitness trainer.

All you need is:
  • a chair that doesn’t move, and doesn’t have armrests (if you are using a wheelchair, make sure your brakes are on and remove your armrests)
  • enough room around your chair to stretch out your arms and legs
  • water
  • a pillow
Dates: Tuesdays and/or Thursdays (weekly)

Times:  9 a.m. - 10 a.m. PST
            10 a.m. - 11 a.m. MST
            11 a.m. - 12 noon CST
            12 noon - 1 p.m. EST
            1 p.m. - 2 p.m. AST
            1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. NST

Register: To register for this program, please complete a short online form. You only need to register once then you will be able to attend all future sessions.


PERK Activities (Wednesdays)

PERK is a program that aims to help people stay mentally sharp while enjoying group camaraderie. PERK activities are fun, trigger all your senses, and are different from what you used to doing. It uses imagination, concentration, creativity, memory, brainstorming and social interaction. This program is a great fit for participants who enjoy meeting others, and learning new things.

Dates: Weekly every Wednesday

Times: 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. PST
            11:30 a.
m. - 12 noon MST
            12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. CST
            1:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. EST
            2:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. AST
            3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. NST

Register: Registration is easy. Simply complete a short form. 

Register

Virtual Stroke Recovery Program (Wednesday session)

Exercise your brain and body every Wednesday with our virtual Stroke Recovery Program. You'll enjoy brain exercises, discussion, and a chair exercise while connecting with other stroke survivors. Keep yourself active mentally and physically.

Wednesday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session.

Dates: Weekly every Wednesday

Times: 1 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. PST
            2 p.
m. - 4:30 p.m. MST
            3 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. CST
            4 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. EST
            5 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. AST
            5:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. NST

Register: Registration is easy. Simply complete a short form. 

Register


Virtual Stroke Recovery Program (Friday session)

Exercise your brain and body every Friday with our virtual Stroke Recovery Program. You'll enjoy brain exercises, discussion, and a chair exercise while connecting with other stroke survivors. Keep yourself active mentally and physically.

Friday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session.

Dates: Weekly every Friday

Times: 1 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. PST
            2 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. MST
            3 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. CST
            4 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. EST
            5 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. AST
            5:30 p.m. - 8 p.m. NST

Register: Registration is easy. Simply complete a short form. 

Register





Instructions to connect to online programs

After Stroke online programs are hosted on Zoom, an online video chat network. For those of you who are new to connecting to Zoom web events or for those who need a refresher, please review the following login instructions for computer and telephone:


To interact during the sessions
  1. At the time of the event, click on the website link provided for your program.

  2. Enter the Meeting ID number for the program if required. 

  3. For computers with built in speakers and microphones, interact directly from your computer. 

  4. For computers that do NOT have speakers or microphones, you can interact with what you see on the computer screen by phoning in to the session to listen and speak to other participants. Dialing in using one of the following location numbers:
     1-647-558-0588  (Toronto, ON)
     1-778-907-2071  (Vancouver, BC)
     1-438-809-7799  (Montreal, QC)
     1-587-328-1099  (Calgary, AB)
     1-647-374-4685  (Toronto, ON)

If you have any questions, reach out to us in advance at afterstroke@marchofdimes.ca or 1-888-540-6666.

We look forward to staying connected to you!