Aphasia-Peer-Connect Aphasia Peer Connect

Aphasia Peer Connect

4/30/2021
4/30/2021 11:00 AM
 

ACDP smiling participant

Aphasia Peer Connect

Stronger Together

Aphasia Peer Connect is a peer social group for people with aphasia and other communication disabilities.
  • Online
  • Weekly
  • For one hour

Get together and connect with other people who have communication challenges. Our volunteers will provide a safe and comfortable environment where you can: 
  • Meet new people
  • Have conversations
  • Have fun!  

If you or someone you know is interested in joining Aphasia Peer Connect, please Register Here.


Session Dates & Times

Once you register, you can join one of the regional groups or one of the national groups. If the regional group session near you doesn’t work for your schedule, our staff will work with you to find a group that works for you.

Aphasia Peer Connect sessions:

Region: National
Dates: Weekly on Mondays or Thursdays
Times: 
11 a.m. PDT
12 noon MDT
1 p.m. CDT
2 p.m. EDT
3 p.m. ADT
3:30 p.m. NDT

Region: Alberta
Dates: Weekly on Tuesdays or Fridays
Times: 11 a.m. MDT (Alberta)
10 a.m. PDT
11 a.m. MDT
12 noon CDT
1 p.m. EDT
2 p.m. ADT
2:30 p.m. NDT
Register to join Aphasia Peer Connect

Region: Durham, Ontario
Dates: Weekly on Wednesdays
Times:1 p.m. EDT (Ontario)
10 a.m. PDT
11 a.m. MDT
12 noon CDT
1 p.m. EDT
2 p.m. ADT
2:30 p.m. NDT
Register to join Aphasia Peer Connect

Region: Hamilton and Niagara, Ontario
Dates: Weekly on Wednesdays
Times: 11 a.m. EDT (Ontario)
8 a.m. PDT
9 a.m. MDT
10 a.m. CDT
11 a.m. EDT
12 noon ADT
12:30 p.m. NDT
Register to join Aphasia Peer Connect 

Region: Peterborough
Dates: Weekly on Wednesdays
Times: 11 a.m. EDT (Ontario)
8 a.m. PDT
9 a.m. MDT
10 a.m. CDT
11 a.m. EDT
12 noon ADT
12:30 p.m. NDT


Instructions to connect to the Aphasia Peer Connect online group

The Aphasia Peer Connect online group is hosted on Zoom, an online video chat network. For those of you who are new to connecting to Zoom web events or for those who need a refresher, please review the following login instructions for computer and telephone:


To interact during the sessions

  1. At the time of the event, click on the Zoom website link provided for your program.

  2. Enter the Meeting ID number for the program if required. 

  3. For computers with built in speakers and microphones, interact directly from your computer. 

  4. For computers that do NOT have speakers or microphones, you can interact with what you see on the computer screen by phoning in to the session to listen and speak to other participants. Dialing in using one of the following location numbers:
     1-647-558-0588  (Toronto, ON)
     1-778-907-2071  (Vancouver, BC)
     1-438-809-7799  (Montreal, QC)
     1-587-328-1099  (Calgary, AB)
     1-647-374-4685  (Toronto, ON)

If you have any questions, reach out to us in advance by contacting Rebecca Smith by email at rsmith@marchofdimes.ca or call 1-647-522-1319. 

We look forward to staying connected to you! 



Aphasia Peer Connect is supported by the Government of Canada’s Emergency Community Support Fund and the following Community Foundations:
  • Hamilton Community Foundation 
  • Niagara Community Foundation  
  • Durham Community Foundation 
  • Calgary Foundation