After-Stroke-Virtual-Activities NEW - After Stroke Virtual Activities!

NEW - After Stroke Virtual Activities!

11/30/2020
11/30/2020 12:00 PM
 

Woman on computer

Connecting to one another virtually

How is everyone managing self distancing? Are you looking to talk with other survivors and caregivers? Share stories of activities and staying healthy?

After Stroke has been working to find ways to plan activities and keep everyone connected. We have a number of virtual (online) sessions, meetings and workshops planned, so you can maintain your connection with the community from the comfort and safety of your home. We also encourage those who have Facebook to join our After Stroke Facebook group as a way to stay connected during this time. 

*All our online programs require registration. Registration is easy and only takes minutes to complete. Please register for your program of choice using the contact information provided below. Once we receive your registration request, someone will be in touch with you and send you the login instructions and link to access the online program. 

Our online virtual events are hosted on the Zoom web conferencing network. For those of you who are new to connecting to Zoom web events or for those who need a refresher, please review the following login instructions for computer and telephone:


To interact during the sessions, once you go to the website link and enter your Meeting ID number to login, phone in to the session by dialing in using one of the following location numbers:
     1-647-558-0588  (Toronto, ON)
     1-778-907-2071  (Vancouver, BC)
     1-438-809-7799  (Montreal, QC)
     1-587-328-1099  (Calgary, AB)
     1-647-374-4685  (Toronto, ON)

The first few minutes of each meeting will be dedicated to allowing people to logon. Also you can reach out to us in advance afterstroke@marchofdimes.ca or 1.888.540.6666 if you have questions.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to staying connected to you! 


Upcoming Virtual Events

October  

Date & Time

Event

Description

Link

Monday, October 26
(weekly)
10 am PDT
11 am MDT
12 noon CDT
1 pm EDT
2 pm ADT
2:30 pm NDT


Ask an Expert
(Most Mondays)
Information, inspiration, and resources for stroke recovery, presented by medical and rehabilitation professionals. Topics are timely and relevant during this pandemic. These interactive sessions only need you to bring your curiosity and questions. 
(*Most Mondays)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please complete a short online form.

Register 

Monday, October 26
(weekly)
11 am PDT
12 noon MDT
1 pm CDT
2 pm EDT
3 pm ADT
3:30 pm NDT


Aphasia Connect Virtual Group
(Monday session)
Join people with aphasia and other communcation disorders in a guided conversation. An opportunity to meet new people and stay connected. 
(*Every Monday for one hour)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Elizabeth Faraone by email at
efaraone@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-416-697-4936 

Register by email

Tuesday, October 27
(weekly)
9 am PDT
10 am MDT
11 am CDT
12 noon EDT
1 pm ADT
1:30 pm NDT


Chair Exercises for Stroke Recovery
(Tuesday session)
​Join us for a free one-hour chair exercise session led by a certified fitness trainer. All you need is:
  • a chair that doesn’t move, and doesn’t have armrests 
    (if you are using a wheelchair, make sure your brakes are on and remove your armrests)
  • enough room around your chair to stretch out your arms and legs
  • water
  • a pillow
(*Every Tuesday and Thursday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.

Register


Tuesday, October 27
(weekly)
10 am PDT
11 am MDT
12 noon CDT
1 pm EDT
2 pm ADT
2:30 pm NDT


After Stroke Virtual Community Conversation
(Tuesday session)
Join survivors and caregivers from all over Canada to meet, share knowledge and resources.
(*Every Tuesday)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Barb Moore by email at
bmoore@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-289-439-4178. 

Register by email

Wednesday, October 28
(weekly)
10:30 am PDT
11:30 am MDT
12:30 pm CDT
1:30 pm EDT
2:30 pm ADT
3:00 pm NDT


PERK Activities

​PERK is a program that aims to help people stay mentally sharp while enjoying group camaraderie. PERK activities are fun, trigger all your senses, and are different from what you used to doing. It uses imagination, concentration, creativity, memory, brainstorming and social interaction. This program is a great fit for participants who enjoy meeting others, and learning new things.
(*Every Wednesday)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please complete a short online form.

Register 

Wednesday, October 28
11:30 am PDT
12:30 pm MDT
1:30 pm CDT
2:30 pm EDT
3:30 pm ADT
4:00 pm NDT


For Caregivers: Navigating the Rough Waters of Care Transitions 
Session 3: Transitioning to Long Term Care – Managing and Thriving as a Family
(Part 3 of 4)

The transition (move) from independent living to assisted living or a long-stay unit (nursing home) can be confusing, difficult to manage and often fraught with an overwhelming sense of fear and loss. This session will examine the move to supported living environments and the roles caregivers play within them. Keeping the family intact and locating new responsibilities as an essential partner in care will be the focus of this session. 

Registration is required.  
Register on Eventbrite for this free 1 1/2 hr webinar.


Register


Wednesday, October 28
(weekly)
1 pm PDT
2 pm MDT
3 pm CDT
4 pm EDT
5 pm ADT
5:30 pm NDT


Virtual Stroke Recovery Program (Wednesday session)
​Wednesday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session
(*Every Wednesday)
Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.


Register


Thursday, October 29
(weekly)
9 am PDT
10 am MDT
11 am CDT
12 noon EDT
1 pm ADT
1:30 pm NDT


Chair Exercises for Stroke Recovery
(Thursday session)
​Join us for a free one-hour chair exercise session led by a certified fitness trainer. All you need is:
  • a chair that doesn’t move, and doesn’t have armrests 
    (if you are using a wheelchair, make sure your brakes are on and remove your armrests)
  • enough room around your chair to stretch out your arms and legs
  • water
  • a pillow
(*Every Tuesday and Thursday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.

Register



Thursday, October 29
(weekly)
11 am PDT
12 noon MDT
1 pm CDT
2 pm EDT
3 pm ADT
3:30 pm NDT


Aphasia Connect Virtual Group
(Thursday session)
Join people with aphasia and other communcation disorders in a guided conversation. An opportunity to meet new people and stay connected. 
(*Every Thursday for one hour)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Elizabeth Faraone by email at
efaraone@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-416-697-4936 

Register by email

Friday, October 30
(weekly)
1 pm PDT
2 pm MDT
3 pm CDT
4 pm EDT
5 pm ADT
5:30 pm NDT


Virtual Stroke Recovery Program 
(Friday session)

​Friday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session
(*Every Friday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.


Register




November  

Date & Time

Event

Description

Link

Monday, November 2
(weekly)
10 am PDT
11 am MDT
12 noon CDT
1 pm EDT
2 pm ADT
2:30 pm NDT


Ask an Expert
(Most Mondays)
Information, inspiration, and resources for stroke recovery, presented by medical and rehabilitation professionals. Topics are timely and relevant during this pandemic. These interactive sessions only need you to bring your curiosity and questions. 
(*Most Mondays)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please complete a short online form.

Register 

Monday, November 2
(weekly)
11 am PDT
12 noon MDT
1 pm CDT
2 pm EDT
3 pm ADT
3:30 pm NDT


Aphasia Connect Virtual Group
(Monday session)
Join people with aphasia and other communcation disorders in a guided conversation. An opportunity to meet new people and stay connected. 
(*Every Monday for one hour)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Elizabeth Faraone by email at
efaraone@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-416-697-4936 

Register by email

Tuesday, November 3
(weekly)
9 am PDT
10 am MDT
11 am CDT
12 noon EST
1 pm ADT
1:30 pm NDT


Chair Exercises for Stroke Recovery
(Tuesday session)
​Join us for a free one-hour chair exercise session led by a certified fitness trainer. All you need is:
  • a chair that doesn’t move, and doesn’t have armrests 
    (if you are using a wheelchair, make sure your brakes are on and remove your armrests)
  • enough room around your chair to stretch out your arms and legs
  • water
  • a pillow
(*Every Tuesday and Thursday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.

Register


Tuesday, November 3
(weekly)
10 am PDT
11 am MDT
12 noon CDT
1 pm EDT
2 pm ADT
2:30 pm NDT


After Stroke Virtual Community Conversation
(Tuesday session)
Join survivors and caregivers from all over Canada to meet, share knowledge and resources.
(*Every Tuesday)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Barb Moore by email at
bmoore@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-289-439-4178. 

Register by email

Wednesday, November 4
(weekly)
10:30 am PDT
11:30 am MDT
12:30 pm CDT
2:30 pm EDT
2:30 pm ADT
3:00 pm NDT


PERK Activities

​PERK is a program that aims to help people stay mentally sharp while enjoying group camaraderie. PERK activities are fun, trigger all your senses, and are different from what you used to doing. It uses imagination, concentration, creativity, memory, brainstorming and social interaction. This program is a great fit for participants who enjoy meeting others, and learning new things.
(*Every Wednesday)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please complete a short online form.

Register 

Wednesday, November 4
11:30 am PDT
12:30 pm MDT
1:30 pm CDT
2:30 pm EDT
3:30 pm ADT
4:00 pm NDT


For Caregivers: Navigating the Rough Waters of Care Transitions 
Session 4: After Caregiving, What’s Changed in You?
(Part 4 of 4)

Even if your everyday care tasks and responsibilities “end,” care still shapes you in ways you could never have predicted because caregiving inevitably changes us and our values.  This webinar explores what happens when the care experience becomes such a vital part of who you are that to “let go” of that part of yourself, would mean ignoring everything you’ve learned about yourself in the process of caring for someone you love.  In this session, we will explore how we can begin identifying and expressing how care has changed us in profound and meaningful ways.

Registration is required.  
Register on Eventbrite for this free 1 1/2 hr webinar.


Register


Wednesday, November 4
(weekly)
1 pm PDT
2 pm MDT
3 pm CDT
4 pm EDT
5 pm ADT
5:30 pm NDT


Virtual Stroke Recovery Program (Wednesday session)
​Wednesday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session
(*Every Wednesday)
Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.


Register


Thursday, November 5
(weekly)
9 am PDT
10 am MDT
11 am CDT
12 noon EDT
1 pm ADT
1:30 pm NDT


Chair Exercises for Stroke Recovery
(Thursday session)
​Join us for a free one-hour chair exercise session led by a certified fitness trainer. All you need is:
  • a chair that doesn’t move, and doesn’t have armrests 
    (if you are using a wheelchair, make sure your brakes are on and remove your armrests)
  • enough room around your chair to stretch out your arms and legs
  • water
  • a pillow
(*Every Tuesday and Thursday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.

Register



Thursday, November 5
(weekly)
11 am PDT
12 noon MDT
1 pm CDT
2 pm EDT
3 pm ADT
3:30 pm NDT


Aphasia Connect Virtual Group
(Thursday session)
Join people with aphasia and other communcation disorders in a guided conversation. An opportunity to meet new people and stay connected. 
(*Every Thursday for one hour)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Elizabeth Faraone by email at
efaraone@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-416-697-4936 

Register by email

Friday, November 6
8 am PDT
9 am MDT
10 am CDT
11 am EDT
12 noon ADT
12:30 pm NDT


Virtual Stroke Recovery Music Program by Music Therapist Erin Stacknick
(every other Friday)

​Join us for a fun and interactive online music program for survivors of stroke and family caregivers to participate. Enjoy breathing and vocal exercises, singing, and gentle movement. No music experience required!


Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Todd Kennedy by email at
tkennedy@marchofdimes.ca

Register by email

Friday, November 6
(weekly)
1 pm PDT
2 pm MDT
3 pm CDT
4 pm EDT
5 pm ADT
5:30 pm NDT


Virtual Stroke Recovery Program 
(Friday session)

​Friday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session
(*Every Friday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.


Register



Monday, November 9
(weekly)
10 am PDT
11 am MDT
12 noon CDT
1 pm EDT
2 pm ADT
2:30 pm NDT


Ask an Expert
(Most Mondays)
Information, inspiration, and resources for stroke recovery, presented by medical and rehabilitation professionals. Topics are timely and relevant during this pandemic. These interactive sessions only need you to bring your curiosity and questions. 
(*Most Mondays)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please complete a short online form.

Register 

Monday, November 9
(weekly)
11 am PDT
12 noon MDT
1 pm CDT
2 pm EDT
3 pm ADT
3:30 pm NDT


Aphasia Connect Virtual Group
(Monday session)
Join people with aphasia and other communcation disorders in a guided conversation. An opportunity to meet new people and stay connected. 
(*Every Monday for one hour)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Elizabeth Faraone by email at
efaraone@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-416-697-4936 

Register by email

Tuesday, November 10
(weekly)
9 am PDT
10 am MDT
11 am CDT
12 noon EDT
1 pm ADT
1:30 pm NDT


Chair Exercises for Stroke Recovery
(Tuesday session)
​Join us for a free one-hour chair exercise session led by a certified fitness trainer. All you need is:
  • a chair that doesn’t move, and doesn’t have armrests 
    (if you are using a wheelchair, make sure your brakes are on and remove your armrests)
  • enough room around your chair to stretch out your arms and legs
  • water
  • a pillow
(*Every Tuesday and Thursday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.

Register


Tuesday, November 10
(weekly)
10 am PDT
11 am MDT
12 noon CDT
1 pm EDT
2 pm ADT
2:30 pm NDT


After Stroke Virtual Community Conversation
(Tuesday session)
Join survivors and caregivers from all over Canada to meet, share knowledge and resources.
(*Every Tuesday)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Barb Moore by email at
bmoore@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-289-439-4178. 

Register by email

Wednesday, November 11
(weekly)
10:30 am PDT
11:30 am MDT
12:30 pm CDT
1:30 pm EDT
2:30 pm ADT
3:00 pm NDT


PERK Activities

​PERK is a program that aims to help people stay mentally sharp while enjoying group camaraderie. PERK activities are fun, trigger all your senses, and are different from what you used to doing. It uses imagination, concentration, creativity, memory, brainstorming and social interaction. This program is a great fit for participants who enjoy meeting others, and learning new things.
(*Every Wednesday)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please complete a short online form.

Register 

Wednesday, November 11
11:30 am PDT
12:30 pm MDT
1:30 pm CDT
2:30 pm EDT
3:30 pm ADT
4:00 pm NDT


For Caregivers:
Stress Management with CMHA: How We Can Connect When Stressed?


Join CMHA's Lawrence Blake for an informative webinar about stress and isolation for family caregivers.
This session will explore isolation and loneliness, how they contribute to stress, and what we can do to combat those feelings and thoughts.

This webinar will provide family caregivers with concrete tools they can use to navigate difficult moments. 

Registration is required.  
Register on Eventbrite for this free 1 1/2 hr webinar.


Register


Wednesday, November 11
(weekly)
1 pm PDT
2 pm MDT
3 pm CDT
4 pm EDT
5 pm ADT
5:30 pm NDT


Virtual Stroke Recovery Program (Wednesday session)
​Wednesday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session
(*Every Wednesday)
Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.


Register


Thursday, November 12
(weekly)
9 am PDT
10 am MDT
11 am CDT
12 noon EDT
1 pm ADT
1:30 pm NDT


Chair Exercises for Stroke Recovery
(Thursday session)
​Join us for a free one-hour chair exercise session led by a certified fitness trainer. All you need is:
  • a chair that doesn’t move, and doesn’t have armrests 
    (if you are using a wheelchair, make sure your brakes are on and remove your armrests)
  • enough room around your chair to stretch out your arms and legs
  • water
  • a pillow
(*Every Tuesday and Thursday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.

Register



Thursday, November 12
(weekly)
11 am PDT
12 noon MDT
1 pm CDT
2 pm EDT
3 pm ADT
3:30 pm NDT


Aphasia Connect Virtual Group
(Thursday session)
Join people with aphasia and other communcation disorders in a guided conversation. An opportunity to meet new people and stay connected. 
(*Every Thursday for one hour)

Registration is required. 
To register for this program, please contact Elizabeth Faraone by email at
efaraone@marchofdimes.ca
or call 1-416-697-4936 

Register by email

Friday, November 13
(weekly)
1 pm PDT
2 pm MDT
3 pm CDT
4 pm EDT
5 pm ADT
5:30 pm NDT


Virtual Stroke Recovery Program 
(Friday session)

​Friday session: Connect with others, brain exercises, discussion topic, and a chair exercise session
(*Every Friday)

Registration is required.  
Register by completing a short online form.


Register







If you find stroke related news articles or events that you would like to share with the After Stroke community, please send them to us and we will post them for everyone to see.